Life Lesson #0008: Luck

Field_of_clover_near_Upwey_-_geograph.org.uk_-_1360802(Preaching things I don’t always implement again, but) If you don’t take stock of your life, look around sometimes, and realize how crazy lucky you are… you’re an idiot.

I’m going out on a limb here, but I’m going to guess that if you happen to be reading this, you’re relatively wealthy compared to the population of this planet. Sure you’re possibly a “poor college student,” or you live paycheck to paycheck, or maybe you eat ramen with frequency. That does NOT mean you’re actually poor.

Things that make you relatively wealthy can include: You have a place to live. You have a job. You are getting/have been educated. You have a car. You don’t scrap to eat. You take vacations sometimes. You aren’t surrounded by military conflict. Hell, you have the Internet!

Some of us forget what luck we really have. Personally, I just remembered that I live in a house. I have a job. I have a car. I have the Internet. I have the opportunity to travel a few times a year. I eat well. I’ve been educated. I’m crazy rich in relative terms. My luck is immense, especially when I consider that I get to live with someone I am absolutely in love with, and who loves me absolutely, too. CRAZY lucky.

Leave a Reply

